IL DEPT OF HEALTHCARE AND FAMILY SERVICES Division of Child Support Enforcement

INCOME WITHHOLDING FOR SUPPORT

□ ORIGINAL INCOME WITHHOLDING ORDER/NOTICE FOR SUPPORT (IWO) □ AMENDED IWO □ ONE-TIME ORDER/NOTICE - LUMP SUM PAYMENT

□ ONE-TIME ORDER/NOTICE - LUMP SUM PAYMEN □ TERMINATION of IWO

Date:

□ Child Support Enforcement (CSE) Agency □Court □ Attorney □ Private Individual/Entity (Check One)

NOTE: If you receive this document from someone other than a State or Tribal Child Support Enforcement agency or a court, a copy of the underlying order that contains a provision authorizing income withholding must be attached. Or if under State law an attorney in that State, or if under Tribal law a Tribal legal representative, may issue an income withholding order, the attorney or Tribal legal representative must include a copy of the State or Tribal law authorizing the attorney or Tribal legal representative to issue an income withholding order.

State/Tribe/Territory City/County/Dist./Tribe Private Individual/Entity Entry Date of Order for Support		Case Identifier Order Identifie		This is where your RIN is located
	RE:			
Employer/Income Withholder's Name	_	Employee/Obl	ligor's Name (Last, First, MI)	RIN
Employer/Income Withholder's Address	_	Employee/Obl	ligor's Social Security Number	(if known)
-	-	Custodial Part	ty/Obligee's Name (Last, First,	M) RIN
Employer/Income Withholder's Federal EIN	-			
Any Subsequent Employer/Payor of Income	-			
Child's Name (Last, First, MI)	Child's Birth Da	ate		

ORDER INFORMATION: This document is based on the support or withholding order from Illinois.

You are required by law to deduct these amounts from the employee/obligor's income until further notice.

\$	Per	current child support	-
\$	Per	past-due child support - Arrea	rs greater than 12 weeks? □ Yes □No
\$	Per	current cash medical support	•
\$	Per	past-due cash medical support	
\$	Per	current spousal support	
\$	Per	past-due spousal support	
\$	Per	delinguency, totaling \$	as of ,
\$	Per	other (must specify)	
for a total of	of \$	per	to be forwarded to the State Disbursement

Unit (SDU) at the address on page 2 of this notice.

OMB 0970-0154

AMOUNTS TO WITHHOLD: You do not have to vary your pay cycle to be in compliance with the Order Information. If your pay cycle does not match the ordered payment cycle, withhold one of the following amounts:

\$ per weekly pay period	<pre>\$ per semimonthly pay period (twice a month)</pre>
\$ per biweekly pay period (every two weeks)	<pre>\$ per monthly pay period</pre>

ONE-TIME LUMP SUM PAYMENT ______

REMITTANCE INFORMATION: If the employee/obligor's principal place of employment is located in Illinois, you must begin withholding no later than the first pay period that occurs 14 days after the date of this notice. Send payment within 7 working days of the pay date. The total withheld amount, including your fee, cannot exceed 50% to 65% of the employee/obligor's aggregate disposable weekly earnings (ADWE). If the employee/obligor's principal place of employment is not Illinois, for limitations on withholding, applicable time requirements, and any allowable employer fees, follow the laws and procedures of the employee/obligor's principal place of employment (see ADDITIONAL INFORMATION TO EMPLOYERS AND OTHER WITHHOLDERS).

If remitting payment by EFT/EDI, call the State Disbursement Unit (SDU) at 1-888-704-0683, before first submission, for bank routing and account numbers. This number is used for EFT/EDI only. For all other income withholding questions, contact the Income Withholding Unit on the last page of this form. If paying by check, make check payable to the SDU. Include this Remittance Identifier with payment: ______. Send check to: ______.

Signature (if required by State or Tribal law): ______ Print Name: ______ Title of Issuing Official: _____

□ If checked, you are required to provide a copy of this form to the employee/obligor. If the employee/obligor works in a State or for a Tribe that is different from the State or Tribe that issued this order, a copy must be provided to the employee/obligor even if the box is not checked.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION FOR EMPLOYERS AND OTHER INCOME WITHHOLDERS

State-specific information may be viewed on the OCSE Employer Services website located at: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cse/newhire/employer/contacts/contacts.htm

- 1. **Priority:** Withholding for support has priority over any other legal process under State law (or Tribal law if applicable) against the same income. If a Federal tax levy is in effect, please notify the contact person listed on #10 at the end of this document.
- 2. Combining Payments: You may combine withheld amounts from more than one employee/obligor's income in a single payment to each agency/party requesting withholding. You must, however, separately identify the portion of the single payment that is attributable to each employee/obligor.
- 3. Reporting the Pay Date: You must report the pay date when sending the payment. The pay date is the date on which the amount was withheld from the employee/obligor's wages. You must comply with the law of the State (or Tribal law if applicable) of the employee/obligor's principal place of employment with respect to the time periods within which you must implement the withholding and forward the support payments.
- 4. Employee/Obligor with Multiple Support Withholdings: If there is more than one Order/Notice against this employee/obligor and you are unable to fully honor all support Orders/Notices due to federal, State, or Tribal withholding limits, you must follow the State or Tribal law/procedure of the employee/obligor's principal place of employment. You must honor all Orders/Notices to the greatest extent possible, giving priority to current support before payment of any past-due support. See #8.
- 5. Lump Sum Payments: You may be required to report and withhold from lump sum payments such as bonuses, commissions, or severance pay. Contact the agency or person listed on #10 at the end of this notice to determine if you are required to withhold or if you have any questions about lump sum payments.

OMB Expiration Date – 10/31/2010. The OMB Expiration Date has no bearing on the termination date or validity of the income withholding order; it identifies the version of the form currently in use.

HFS 3683 (R-8-09)

- 6. Liability: If you have any doubts about the validity of the Order/Notice, contact the agency or person listed below. If you fail to withhold income as the Order/Notice directs, you are liable for both the accumulated amount you should have withheld from the employee/obligor's income and any other penalties set by State or Tribal law/procedure.
 - a. Duties of, and Fines and Penalties Applicable to, the Payor Under Illinois Law:
 - 1) The payor shall deduct the amount designated in the income withholding notice, as supplemented by any notice provided pursuant to section 45 (f) of the Income Withholding for Support Act, beginning no later than the next payment of income which is payable or creditable to the obligor that occurs 14 days following the date the income withholding notice was mailed, sent by facsimile or other electronic means, or placed for personal delivery to or service on the payor. The payor may combine all amounts withheld for the benefit of an obligee or public office into a single payment and transmit the payment with a listing of obligors from whom withholding has been effected. The payor must pay the amount withheld to the State Disbursement Unit within 7 business days after the date the amount would (but for the duty to withhold income) have been paid or credited to the obligor. If the payor knowingly fails to withhold the amount designated in the Income Withholding Notice or to pay the amount withheld to the State Disbursement Unit within 7 business days after the date the amount would have been paid or credited to the obligor, the payor shall pay a penalty of \$100 for each day that the amount designated in the income withholding notice (whether or not withheld by the payor) is not paid to the State Disbursement Unit after the period of 7 business days has expired. This penalty may be collected in a civil action which may be brought against the payor in favor of the obligee or public office. For each withholding, the payor shall provide the State Disbursement Unit, at the time of transmittal, with the date the amount would (but for the duty to withhold income) have been paid or credited to the obligor. For withholding of income, the payor shall be entitled to receive a fee not to exceed \$5 per month to be taken from the income to be paid to the obligor. Whenever the obligor is no longer receiving income from the payor, the payor shall return a copy of the income withholding notice to the obligee or public office and shall provide information for the purpose of enforcing the Income Withholding for Support Act. Withholding of income shall be made without regard to any prior or subsequent garnishments, attachments, wage assignments, or any other claims of creditors. The income withholding notice is binding upon the payor until service on the payor of an order of the court or notice from either the Department or Clerk of the Circuit Court to cease the withholding.
 - 2) If any unpaid arrearage or delinquency equal to at least one month's support obligation exists on the termination date stated in the order for support or, if there is no termination date stated in the order, on the date the child attains the age of majority or is otherwise emancipated, then the periodic amount required to be paid for current support of that child immediately prior to that date shall automatically continue to be an obligation, not as current support but as periodic payment toward satisfaction of the unpaid arrearage or delinquency. That payment shall be in addition to any periodic payment previously required for satisfaction of the arrearage or delinquency. The total periodic amount to be paid toward satisfaction of the arrearage or delinquency may be enforced and collected by any method provided by law for the enforcement and collection of child support, including but not limited to income withholding under the Income Withholding for Support Act.
 - 3) If Income available for withholding shall be applied first to the current support obligation, then to any premium required for employer, labor union, or trade union related health insurance coverage ordered under the order for support, and then to payments required on past-due support obligations. If there is insufficient available income remaining to pay the full amount of the required health insurance premium after withholding of income for the current support obligation, then the remaining available income shall be applied to payments required on pastdue support obligations. If the payor has been served with more than one income withholding notice pertaining to the same obligor, the payor shall allocate income available for withholding on a proportionate share basis, giving priority to current support payments. No payor shall discharge, discipline, refuse to hire or otherwise penalize an obligor because of the duty to withhold income. Where a payor willfully fails to withhold or pay over income pursuant to a properly served income withholding notice, or willfully discharges, disciplines, refuses to hire or otherwise penalizes an obligor, or otherwise fails to comply with any duties imposed by the Income Withholding for Support Act, the obligee, public office or obligor, as appropriate, may file a complaint with the court against the payor. Upon a finding in favor of the complaining party, the court shall enter judgment and direct the enforcement thereof for the total amount that the payor willfully failed to withhold or pay over; and may order employment or reinstatement of or restitution to the obligor, or both, where the obligor has been discharged, disciplined, denied employment or otherwise penalized by the payor and may impose a fine upon the payor not to exceed \$200.

HFS 3683 (R-8-09)

7. Anti-discrimination: You are subject to a fine determined under State or Tribal law for discharging an employee/obligor from employment, refusing to employ, or taking disciplinary action against an employee/obligor because of a child support withholding.

a. Rights, Remedies and Duties of the Obligor Under Illinois Law:

- 1) An employer cannot discharge, discipline, refuse to hire, or otherwise penalize the obligor because of the duty to withhold. If the employer does so, the employer may be ordered to reinstate or provide restitution to the obligor, or both, and may be fined up to \$200, pursuant to a complaint filed by the obligor in the circuit court. The obligor is required by law to notify the Department/Clerk of the Circuit Court of any new address or employer within 7 days of the change. At any time after the initial service of the income withholding notice, the Department may serve any employer with the same income withholding notice without further notice to the obligor. New service of an income withholding notice is not required in order to resume withholding of income in the case of an obligor with respect to whom an income withholding notice was previously served on the payor if withholding of income was terminated because of an interruption in the obligor's employment of less than 180 days.
- 2) If there is an unpaid arrearage or delinquency equal to at least one month's support obligation on the termination date stated in the order for support or, if there is no termination date stated in the order, on the date the child attains the age of majority or is otherwise emancipated, the periodic amount required to be paid for current support of that child immediately prior to that date shall automatically continue to be an obligation, not as current support but as periodic payment toward satisfaction of the unpaid arrearage or delinquency. That periodic payment shall be in addition to any periodic payment previously required for satisfaction of the arrearage or delinquency. The total periodic amount to be paid toward satisfaction of the arrearage or delinquency may be enforced and collected by any method provided by law for the enforcement and collection of child support, including but not limited to income withholding under the Income Withholding for Support Act.
- The obligor may contest initiated income withholding under Section 30 of the Income Withholding for Support 3) Act, or the obligor may contest income withholding after accrual of delinguency under Section 25 of the Act, by filing a petition to contest withholding with the Clerk of the Circuit Court if the order was issued by the court, or petitioning the Department if the order for support was issued administratively by the Department. The obligor must file the petition within 20 days after service of a copy of the income withholding notice. However, as required by law, the grounds for the request to contest the initiated income withholding shall be limited to whether the parties' written agreement providing an alternative arrangement to immediate withholding continues to ensure payment of support, or misidentification of the obligor. As required by law, the grounds for the petition to contest withholding after accrual of delinquency shall be limited to a dispute concerning the existence or amount of the delinquency, or misidentification of the obligor. The obligor may, at any time, file with the Circuit Clerk or Department a petition to correct a term contained in an income withholding notice to conform to the terms stated in the underlying order for support for the amount of current support, the amount of the arrearage, the periodic amount for payment of the arrearage, or the periodic amount for payment of the delinguency, or to modify, suspend or terminate the income withholding notice because of a modification, suspension or termination of the underlying order for support; or, suspend the income withholding because of inability to deliver income withheld to the obligee due to the obligee's failure to provide a mailing address or other means of delivery. Any obligee, public office or obligor who willfully initiates a false proceeding under the Income Withholding for Support Act may be punished as in cases of contempt of court.
- 8. Withholding Limits: You may not withhold more than the lesser of: 1) the amounts allowed by the Federal Consumer Credit Protection Act (CCPA) (15 U.S.C. 1673(b)); or 2) the amounts allowed by the State or Tribe of the employee/obligor's principal place of employment. Disposable income is the net income left after making mandatory deductions such as: State, Federal, local taxes, Social Security taxes, statutory pension contributions and Medicare taxes. The Federal limit is 50% of the disposable income if the obligor is supporting another family. However, that 50% limit is increased to 55% and that 60% limit is increased to 65% if the arrears are greater than 12 weeks. If permitted by the State, you may deduct a fee for administrative costs. The support amount and the fee may not exceed the limit indicated in this section.
- 9. Arrears greater than 12 weeks? If the Order Information does not indicate whether the arrears are greater than 12 weeks, then the employer should calculate the CCPA limit using the lower percentage.

For Tribal orders, you may not withhold more than the amounts allowed under the law of the issuing Tribe. For Tribal employers who receive a State order, you may not withhold more than the lesser of the limit set by the law of the jurisdiction in which the employer is located or the maximum amount permitted under section 303(d) of the CCPA (15 U.S.C. 1673 (b)).

Depending upon applicable State law, you may need to take into consideration the amounts paid for health care premiums in determining disposable income and applying appropriate withholding limits.

Additional Information:

Employee/Obligor's Name:	Case Identifier: Employer's Name:			
	Employer's Name:			
NOTIFICATION OF TERMINATION OF EMPL and/or the person listed below by returning this	OYMENT: You must promptly notify the Child Support Enforcement agency form to the correspondence address if:			
This person has never worked for this employer.				
This person no longer works for this employer.				
Please provide the following information for the	terminated employee:			
Termination date:	Last known phone number:			
Last known home address:				
Date final payment made to the State Disbursement Unit or Tribal CSE agency:				
Final payment amount:	New employer's name:			
New employer's address:				

10. CONTACT INFORMATION

To employer/employee/obligor: If you the employer, or your employee/obligor have any questions, contact the Income Withholding Unit by phone at ______, by fax at ______, by email or website at www.ilchildsupport.com.

Send termination notice and other correspondence to:

IMPORTANT: The person completing this form is advised that the information may be shared with the employee/obligor.